Does the ability of "Skinrender" adding -1/-1 counters to a target creature classify as a lapsing ability?

Enhance your knowledge of MTG Judge Infraction Procedure Guide with our specialized test. Tackle multiple choice questions with insightful hints and detailed explanations. Prepare effectively for certification.

The correct answer is that the ability of "Skinrender" adding -1/-1 counters to a target creature does classify as a lapsing ability due to the context of its effect. A lapsing ability typically refers to an effect that ceases to be in effect at a certain point unless re-established.

In this case, "Skinrender" targets a creature and applies a permanent change to that creature by placing -1/-1 counters on it. This action is directed at an opponent’s permanent, which can create a significant impact on the game if used strategically. The negative counters reduce the creature's toughness and power, potentially affecting combat scenarios and overall board presence.

The reasoning behind it being a lapsing ability lies in its requirement for targeting, and once targeted, the effect of the -1/-1 counters remains unless removed by other game effects, making it significant in nature. Understanding the implications of the ability helps in assessing how to utilize or combat such abilities during gameplay.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy