Is "At the beginning of your upkeep, each opponent loses 1 life" considered a lapsing ability?

Enhance your knowledge of MTG Judge Infraction Procedure Guide with our specialized test. Tackle multiple choice questions with insightful hints and detailed explanations. Prepare effectively for certification.

A lapsing ability is one that causes an effect that impacts the game at a specific time but does not require any additional actions by the player controlling it after its initial resolution. The statement "At the beginning of your upkeep, each opponent loses 1 life" describes an ability that triggers at the beginning of a player's upkeep and automatically resolves without the need for any further actions from the controller. This falls under the category of triggered abilities, which are considered lapsing because they happen at a designated time and continue to work as long as the conditions are met (in this case, during each upkeep).

The correct answer indicates that the life loss is indeed happening because the ability is effectively resolving each time it triggers. Other options fail to capture the automatic nature of the ability and misinterpret the role of the controller and opponents regarding its resolution. The initial question revolves around the phenomenon of lapsing abilities, and the correct response accurately identifies that the intended effect occurs consistently and automatically as per the game rules.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy