Is "Sower of Temptation" considered a lapsing ability when it gains control of a target creature?

Enhance your knowledge of MTG Judge Infraction Procedure Guide with our specialized test. Tackle multiple choice questions with insightful hints and detailed explanations. Prepare effectively for certification.

The reasoning behind the idea that "Sower of Temptation" is considered a lapsing ability stems from how control changes work in the game. When "Sower of Temptation" enters the battlefield, it triggers an effect that allows its controller to gain control of a target creature. However, this control is not permanent; it typically lasts only until the end of the turn.

The key aspect of this ability is that although the creature is controlled temporarily, it is still a change in control that occurs through a permanent on the battlefield. Since control will revert back to the original owner at the end of the turn, this is characterized as a lapsing ability. In this context, lapsing abilities are those that alter control only temporarily, and "Sower of Temptation" creates a situation that fits this definition perfectly, making A the correct choice.

Other options suggest different interpretations of the ability:

  • The idea presented in the second option regarding it being a triggered ability that does not apply mischaracterizes how the effect of "Sower of Temptation" functions. The ability certainly applies by changing control, but the temporary nature is what leads to the classification as a lapsing ability.

  • The third option incorrectly implies that

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy