Is the ability "At the beginning of your end step, you may reveal the top card of your library" considered a lapsing ability?

Enhance your knowledge of MTG Judge Infraction Procedure Guide with our specialized test. Tackle multiple choice questions with insightful hints and detailed explanations. Prepare effectively for certification.

The ability "At the beginning of your end step, you may reveal the top card of your library" is not considered a lapsing ability, primarily because it uses the word "may," indicating that the action is optional. In Magic: The Gathering, lapsing abilities are those that have a mechanical effect that must be executed at a specific time frame that the player controls. The optional nature of the ability means that the player does not have to perform the action if they do not wish to, which removes the categorization as a lapsing ability.

Choosing to reveal the top card becomes a decision for the player, rather than a mandatory action that must occur or be missed. Therefore, the wording of the ability directly contributes to its classification, reinforcing why it is not a lapsing ability in the context of the game's rules.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy