Is the ability "When Abyssal Horror enters the battlefield, target player discards two cards" a lapsing ability?

Enhance your knowledge of MTG Judge Infraction Procedure Guide with our specialized test. Tackle multiple choice questions with insightful hints and detailed explanations. Prepare effectively for certification.

The ability "When Abyssal Horror enters the battlefield, target player discards two cards" is not categorized as a lapsing ability primarily because lapsing abilities are those that occur under certain conditions or require specific triggers. Rather, this ability is a triggered ability that activates immediately upon the creature entering the battlefield, and its effect does not depend on meeting specific conditions like the state of the game or the availability of cards to discard at the moment it triggers.

In this case, the ability targets a player, compelling them to discard two cards as soon as Abyssal Horror enters. This straightforward action does not involve any ongoing conditions or deferred effects, which is typical of lapsing abilities. Instead, it operates as an immediate, one-time action upon resolution of the trigger, making it distinct from the definition of a lapsing ability.

A lapsing ability typically might be influenced by factors such as the state of the game or whether the controller meets certain criteria, which does not apply here since the discard occurs instantly upon the creature entering the battlefield regardless of the game state at that moment. Understanding these nuances is key in identifying and categorizing different abilities accurately in gameplay scenarios.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy