Is the ability "When Anarchist enters the battlefield, you may return a target sorcery card from your graveyard to your hand" a lapsing ability?

Enhance your knowledge of MTG Judge Infraction Procedure Guide with our specialized test. Tackle multiple choice questions with insightful hints and detailed explanations. Prepare effectively for certification.

The ability "When Anarchist enters the battlefield, you may return a target sorcery card from your graveyard to your hand" is not considered a lapsing ability primarily because of the inclusion of the word "may," which indicates that the action is optional. This means that the player is not obligated to return a sorcery card when Anarchist enters the battlefield; they have the choice to act or to ignore the effect.

In the context of lapsing abilities, these are typically effects that trigger under specific conditions and could potentially be overlooked, especially if they involve mandatory actions that a player must take or remember to perform. However, since the ability grants a choice, players can intentionally decide whether the effect takes place, thus reducing the risk of it being missed or lapsing.

The other considerations mentioned do not apply since the optional nature of the ability clearly differentiates it from a lapsing trigger. A lapsing ability would impose a requirement that must be met, but in this case, the player's decision whether to activate the ability removes that compulsion. This illustrates an important aspect of how Magic: The Gathering's rules are designed to handle abilities and player choices effectively.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy