Is the ability "Whenever a creature dealt damage by Abattoir Ghoul dies, you gain life equal to its toughness" considered a lapsing ability?

Enhance your knowledge of MTG Judge Infraction Procedure Guide with our specialized test. Tackle multiple choice questions with insightful hints and detailed explanations. Prepare effectively for certification.

The ability "Whenever a creature dealt damage by Abattoir Ghoul dies, you gain life equal to its toughness" is classified as a lapsing ability because it is triggered by an event that occurs in the game - specifically, a creature dying after having been dealt damage by Abattoir Ghoul. Lapsing abilities are characterized by their nature of causing effects based on certain game events, rather than voluntary acts by the player controlling the ability.

In this context, the life gain being contingent upon another creature's death ties it to a moment in game play, a key aspect of what qualifies as a lapsing ability. It’s important to note that triggers like this can provide significant synergies and consequences based on the state of the game, establishing their relevance during specific actions rather than ongoing or continuous effects that a player activates on their own.

The other options do not accurately represent the nature of the ability. The ability’s function is not limited to opponents' actions, nor does it require specific mention of creature deaths to qualify as a lapsing effect. Additionally, the degree of life gained (whether substantial or not) does not change the inherent nature of the trigger itself. Thus, framing the ability as a lapsing one reflects its design as responsive

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy