Should a judge intervene when a lapsing trigger is missed?

Enhance your knowledge of MTG Judge Infraction Procedure Guide with our specialized test. Tackle multiple choice questions with insightful hints and detailed explanations. Prepare effectively for certification.

In the context of Magic: The Gathering, a lapsing trigger refers to a situation where a triggered ability that requires a specific action is not resolved because it was missed. According to the Infraction Procedure Guide (IPG), lapsing triggers are generally considered to be player responsibilities. Players are expected to keep track of and resolve their own triggers. The failure to do so can lead to a game state that does not reflect what should have occurred if the trigger had been properly managed.

The judge's role primarily comes into play when there is an appeal or if the game state becomes particularly complex or confusing. Since lapsing triggers are a matter of player responsibility, the judge typically should not intervene unless there is a clear issue or player request for assistance regarding the missed trigger. This allows players to learn from their mistakes and encourages them to remain aware of the game state and the triggers that need to be resolved.

In summary, the correct answer indicates that judges should not intervene in cases of missed lapsing triggers because it falls within the scope of player responsibility, reinforcing the importance of self-management in the game.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy