When is a trigger considered missed?

Enhance your knowledge of MTG Judge Infraction Procedure Guide with our specialized test. Tackle multiple choice questions with insightful hints and detailed explanations. Prepare effectively for certification.

A trigger is considered missed when an action is taken after the point at which the trigger should have resolved, meaning the opportunity to respond or act on that trigger has passed. In Magic: The Gathering, triggers are specific actions or events that occur at particular times, and players must act on them in a timely manner. If the game progresses beyond that point and players have taken other actions, the original trigger is deemed missed.

To elaborate, this definition aligns with the rules regarding triggers in the game. For example, if a trigger occurs at the beginning of a player's upkeep and the player proceeds to draw a card, the opportunity to address that trigger is lost, as the sequence of events has moved beyond the initial trigger. Therefore, the action taken after the trigger's timing frame demonstrates that it has indeed been missed.

In contrast, other options would not correctly describe the conditions of a missed trigger. Simply forgetting the trigger does not capture the full essence of the infraction, nor does resolving the game state or experiencing quick game progress accurately define the criteria for a missed trigger.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy